KALI -- Genpmk cmd error

(Leonard Bernael) #1

Hello Everyone,
I’m relatively new to Kali Linux, and very new to pentesting. I have some background in HTML as well as shell/bash scripting, took a long break, and decided to get involved with Kali Linux and pentesting.

Anyways, so I am working on the first step in where I want to go - cracking a wifi wpa2 password (my own ACTUAL network, not virtual network).

I realized that using crunch, piped through pyrit would’ve taken… a very long time, and was directed to one of the tutorials here - using genpmk & cowpatty.

Sounded great after reading it, and decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately I must have missed something because the very first command [after compiling everying (which isn’t necessary as cowpatty, and genpmk are already installed on the current version of kali)] is something to the effect of

genpmk -f “WORDLIST.TXT” -d “Output file” -s "ESSID of Wifi"
which in the tutorial -f didn’t exist and was created…

Then I tried it, and received the following message:
genpmk 1.1 - WPA-PSK precomputation attack. jwright@hasborg.com
fopen: No such file or directory

This tells me a few things:

1. that particular file does not exist in the given location (which I already knew)
  2. for some particular reason or another, a program designed to generate pmk’s isn’t generating what it’s supposed to
  3. something about this is broken.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any man pages for genpmk, nor did genpmk -h really tell me anything that would help me figure this one out. Ironically, I tried to google this particular issue with genpmk, and didn’t find anything particularly useful either.

Although it would be appreciated, I’m not exactly looking for someone to straight-up give me the answer, since I believe in learning through trial/error, but at the very least give me some directions, and maybe show me what the road sign is that I need (if you get my metaphor)

Edited to fix error in post 2018-12-26 16:05 EST